The Republic of Turkey is a nation straddling Western Asia and Eastern Europe. It is bordered by eight countries: Iran, Iraq, Greece, Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Syria. It is not just its cultural connection to the neighbouring countries that make Turkey an important player in the world’s politics but also its geographic position. Turkey was one of the original signatories to the 1951 Refugee Convention and the 1967 Protocol. According to UNHCR Turkey has been undertaking legislative and institutional reforms to build an effective national asylum system in compliance with international standards. Today it hosts 63.4% of the world’s refugees out of which 3.66 million are registered Syrian refugees who fled their homes as a result of war or persecution. Other nationals seeking protection in Turkey include those from Iran and Iraq. This makes Turkey a vital hub for harbouring refugees and those who seek protection.